New Shoes & New Recipe

Standard

I got some new sandals recently and I love them. They are comfortable, stylin’ and sparkly! No, they’re not “every day” 20130613_144533sandals, they’re special day sandals. Here they are, oh and they are by Steve Madden in case you are curious. Hmm, guess I need to take another photo as you can’t see the whole area of gems- it’s actually a square. They fasten at the ankle with a single buckle which is nice. In this photo I was fresh from a pedicure by Fleur’t Studios (I splurge now and then, when my heels start snagging on carpet!), nail colour Chatters Me Up by OPI. Anyway, these glittering shoes appeal to my inner princess and outer belly dancer.       🙂

It’s summertime and the living is easy… and I have more time to cook and bake and create! Yesterday I tried a new chicken recipe and it was voted delicious enough to be typed right into the computer database. It has the rather mundane title of Chicken with Apricots & Almonds. It has a lovely blend of exotic spices and smells divine; think cinnamon, cumin, smoked paprika, honey… I deviated from the recipe in 2 ways- I added a little bit of Chinese Five Spice and I cooked it all in the slow cooker rather than in a skillet on the stove. We have been in the midst of a heat wave with high humidity and I thought it made more sense to use the slow cooker in the basement. I served it over Basmati rice, topped with toasted slivered almonds. Yum!

For vegetarians out there, I see no reason why this recipe couldn’t be made with garbanzo beans/chick peas.

If you are interested in the recipe, contact me and I will get it to you (or up here, if there’s enough demand).

 

Leave a comment